Prof. Yanbiao Liao

YANBIAO LIAO received BS from PHYSICS DEPT. OF WUHAN UNIVERSITY in China. He is a professor of Dept. of Electronic Engineering of Tsinghua University in China. His interests are optical fiber sensors in theory and applications from 1980, such as fiber Bragg grating sensors, fiber interferometer, fiber network and fiber sensors used for measuring seismic waves ,vibration ,displacements, temperature ,pressure ,current , voltage and so on. He is the Chairman of Optical Fiber Sensor Society in China.

Prof. Reinhardt Willsch

Leibniz Institute of Photonic Technology (IPHT) Jena, Germany (retired 2014) Institute of Applied Photonics (IAP) Berlin, Germany (since 2015, chair of board) PhD in applied physics (NMR) from Friedrich-Schiller University Jena in 1975. Head of IPHT Optical Microsystems/Fiber Sensor Systems dept./research group (1983-2012). Honorary Professor for sensor technology at Ernst-Abbe University of Applied Sciences Jena (since 1998). Scientific consultant at IAP Berlin (since 2015). Author/co-author of four scientific books and more than 200 journal and conference papers. Member of Optical Fiber Sensors (OFS) International Steering Committee (2000-2014), and of journal boards and conference committees in the field of photonic instrumentation and sensing. OFS-17 (Bruges 2005) Technical Chair and OFS-20 (Edinburgh 2009) Conference Co-chair. Current research interests: novel optical sensor concepts based on micro/nano-structured fibers and materials for environmental and bio-medical application, distributed acoustic sensing, and other.

Prof. Nobuaki Takahashi

Nobuaki Takahashi received the B. Sc. in Engineering from Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan, and M. Sc. and Ph. D. in Engineering from University of California, Irvine, USA. From 1981 to 1983, he was a researcher at Amada Engineering and Service, Inc., USA. In 1983, he joined the National Defense Academy, Japan, where he currently leads as a professor a research group involved in Laser Physics, Optoelectronics, and Optical Fiber Sensors. In 2001, he conducted as a steering chair the International Conference on Optical Engineering for Sensing and Nanotechnology sponsored by Optical Society of Japan and SPIE. From 2011 to 2013, he was a Dean of the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Prof. Leszek R. Jaroszewicz

Prof. Leszek R. Jaroszewicz, PhD, DSc, Eng, SPIE Fellow is director of the Institute of Applied Physics Military University of Technology as well as Editor -in-Chief of the Opto-Electronics Review journal (IF=1.611). Since 1984 he has been engaged in the research of fibre-optic coherent transmission, FOGs and interferometric and polarimetric optical fibre sensors including wide scope of the fibre optic Sagnac interferometer’s applications as a sensor of a variety of physical fields. At present the main field of his interest is photonics technology application for sensors devices including: hybrid liquid crystal waveguide transducers, new technologies of monocrystals and glasses manufacturing especially the oxide type, technologies of advanced fibre optics and photonic crystal fibre elements as well as fibre-optic rotational seismograph R&D. He is non-official photograph of OFS, also.

Prof. John Philip Dakin

Author of several books, over 180 papers and 120 patents. Inventor of :- 1. 1. sphere-lens connector 2. Raman distributed temperature sensor, 3. The 1st interferometric hydrophone array 4. Distributed seismic sensor, plus many gas sensors. He was previously a visiting professor at Strathclyde University (UK) and was the technical programme committee chairman of the major OFS ’89 Conference in Paris. He is frequently an invited speaker and chair at major international conferences.

Prof. David D. Sampson

Professor David Sampson heads the Optical+Biomedical Engineering Laboratory and is Director of the Centre for Microscopy, Characterisation & Analysis at The University of Western Australia. He directs the Western Australian nodes of the Australian Microscopy & Microanalysis Research Facility and the National Imaging Facility (Australia). He is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, the OSA – The Optical Society and SPIE – The International Society for Optics and Photonics. Prof. Sampson’s research interests are in the science and applications of light in medicine and biology. His research is focused on the translation of microscopy techniques to imaging in the living body – medical microscopy. He was awarded the IEEE Photonics Society’s Distinguished Lecturer Award in 2013 for the Microscope-in-a-Needle, a deep tissue imaging platform which targets surgical and biopsy guidance, as well as several other prizes, including the 2015 The Australian/Shell Innovation Challenge, for its promise for commercialisation. His other interests are in optical micro-elastography, the micro-scale imaging of tissue stiffness, also undergoing commercialization, and parametric imaging of tissue properties such as optical attenuation, birefringence, and speckle dynamics to detect microvasculature, with a view to creating a suite

Prof. Byoung Yoon Kim

Byoung Yoon Kim is currently the founding director of Institute for Startup KAIST and Professor of Physics at KAIST where he also served as Vice President of Research. He previously held a faculty position at and earned his PhD in applied physics from Stanford University. His research focus is fiber optics, and he founded FiberPro and Novera Optics. He is a Fellow of IEEE, OSA, Optical Society of Korea, and Institute of Physics, and a member of the Korean Academy of Science and Technology.

Mr. Marc Voet

Dr. Thomas Bosselmann

Dr. Thomas Bosselmann studied physics and electrical engineering. He has been active the field of optical sensing for more than 30 years. He is with the Siemens Corporate Technology as a project manager for the fiber optics group. His work is focusing on sensing in all areas of the energy sector as power transmission, fossile power generation, renewables and fuel cells. He was a TPC member of the OFS and EWOFS conferences and is currently a HC member of the OFS. He has filed more than 150 patents and authored, coauthored more than 100 papers.

Dr. Richard Claus

Richard Claus received degrees from the Johns Hopkins University. For more than 30 years, he served on the engineering faculty at Virginia Tech where he taught electrical engineering and materials science, founded and directed the Fiber & Electro-Optics Research Center, and most recently held the Lewis A. Hester Chair of Engineering. Claus left Virginia Tech in January 2007 to work full-time at NanoSonic, a small spinoff from the Virginia Tech Colleges of Science and Engineering. He has received the ASME/AIAA Adaptive Structures Prize for work on actively controlled aircraft wings, the ASCE Normal Medal for work in active structural control, the IEEE Centennial Medal, and an SPIE Lifetime Achievement Award. He co-founded and served as co-Editor-in-Chief of the Institute of Physics journal Smart Materials and Structures from 1993 to 2007. Claus has published more than 1,000 related journal and conference papers, and 30 issued patents.

IEEE websites place cookies on your device to give you the best user experience. By using our websites, you agree to the placement of these cookies. To learn more, read our Privacy Policy.